2017 PACIFIC MINI GAMES 4-15 December Port Vila, Vanuatu OUR HISTORY The Pacific Mini Games is the Oceania region’s premier multi-sport event. Established in 1963, the first Pacific Games were hosted by Fiji – and have since been held in six nations and territories within the region; most recently in Papua New Guinea in 2015. A further 8 nations and territories have had the honour of hosting the Pacific Mini Games, including the first edition in Solomon Islands in 1981 and most recently Wallis & Futuna in 2013. In 2017, Vanuatu will proudly host the Pacific Mini Games for the second time, after first welcoming the athletes of the 22 Pacific nations and territories back in 1993. From 4-15 December 2017, we will welcome over 2,000 elite athletes, coaches, VIP officials, referees and umpires, medical practitioners, media personnel and broadcasters for this celebration of sporting excellence, Pacific spirit and national unity. For just the first time in the history of the Pacific Mini Games, our cousins from Australia and New Zealand will also be invited to compete in 2017, thereby raising the standards and prestige of the Pacific Mini Games to new heights. The 2017 Pacific Games promises to be a defining event in Vanuatu’s history, as our nation seeks to overcome the devastation of Cyclone Pam and produce an event that will capture the imagination and interest of not just our people, but of the entire Pacific and beyond. They will be a unique opportunity for our nation to showcase its capabilities – which is why the Vanuatu Government is making a significant investment to ensure the Vanuatu 2017 Pacific Games will be a major success. The theme of the 2017 Pacific Games is IGNITE THE SPIRIT WITHIN which provides a powerful message of mobilizing communities, athletes, citizens and businesses to use these Games as a powerful catalyst for positive change and activation of the country and its place in the Pacific. OVERVIEW The 23 Nations and Territories: American Samoa Cook Islands Fiji Federated States of Micronesia Guam Kiribati Marshall Islands Nauru New Caledonia Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Palau Papua New Guinea Samoa Solomon Islands Tokelau Tonga Tuvalu Wallis & Futuna And…….Team Vanuatu! Plus – By Invitation Australia New Zealand The 13 OL SPORTS

  1. Archery
  2. Athletics
  3. Beach Volleyball
  4. Boxing
  5. Football
  6. Golf
  7. Judo
  8. Karate
  9. Netball
  10. Rugby 7s
  11. Table Tennis
  12. Tennis
  13. Weightlifting